Port Macquarie Ironman : Preparation

 img_0095

Port Macquarie Ironman- Preparation

There has been no happier, very last finisher in any event than me in Port Macquarie on that Ironman night. After 16hrs 48minutes I was probably happier than  the fastest person on the course.

 Scenic Routes Do Sell

 Why Port Macquarie? Well as usual , I was sold on the idea about  how breathtaking and stunning the race route  was. I have yet to learn how to associate “scenic” with hills. 

img_01031

 Crash programme

Admittedly there were a few minor glitches on the way to Port Macquarie – like insufficient time on the bike and in the water. My new trek bike – bought one month before the Aviva 70.3 in September 08 was  and still is, languishing somewhere on the docks in Sydney. My swimming was also a tad rusty. However,  this was a brand New Year and this was my brand new resolution – completeing an ironman race along  the most scenic routes .I had 12 weeks.

Luckily I found a kind soul in Coffs who was willing to help me plan the  adventure .img_00741 

 

Swim Training

In January 09 I started swimming in earnest. Apart from that one month before last year’s Aviva 70.3, I had not swum laps since 1972. I had cramps  every 100m so I repaired to the supermarket for the latest anticramp remedy – magnesium tablets and kept myself going by rewarding each swim session  with dark fruitcake or banana bread. By week 10, I could complete 2.5k in about 2 hours. Then there was this little detail about wet suits.

img_5990I found that the wetsuit made me so bouyant I got sea sick floating around in the sea. I think I know how the otters and seals  feel bobbing around on the surface.  Anyway it was during this period that there were reports of sharks hunting surfers  in Sydney, so practicing in the open water rapidly became less attractive. Just in case the local shark community were influenced by their city cousins.

 

 

Bike img_0904

Well I went to buy  a nice aluminium,  lime green Giant.  I have to say that the first 30-50k succeeded beyond my dreams – in tenderising my poor rump steaks. However, the subsequent shopping – online shopping  made up for most things. I also found some advice from the internet on how to wear those funny padded shorts. In 12 weeks, the rides progressed from a painful 1.5 hour 20k ride to 160k in 8.5-9 sore hours. Somewhere along the way the bike morphed into a carbon  bikimg_0883e – this time in black and lime green.

The long rides were interesting because I had very nice coffee and lunch breaks! The routes were planned with a nice scenic coffee or picnic places as the focus destination. So from Coffs Harbour, I would ride for a nice lunch at Mylestrom,  coffee at Urunga , Chocolate Florentines or gelato at Bellingen.  Or  a quiet  snack in  the Bongil Bongil forest reserve. An additional  2kg appeared  quietly on the weighing scales too. Minor details.

img_01051 

Two weeks before the event I meandered down to Port Macquarie to have a look at the bike route. I found the infamous  Matthew Flinders hill  rather steep. Initially I thought I could do it. I pedalled madly, rapidly lost momentum and slowly but surely  ground to a halt. Then there was this agonising tilt over to the grassy verge because I couldn’t decide which foot to take off the pedals since both were still desperately pushing downwards. 

The score that day was 5 to the hill and 1 to me. That one time when  I actually  got up the hill still seated on the bike left me gasping so badly  that I had to get off anyway. So while I was doing my asthmatic attck and whooping cough –  recovering from my near death experience – this handsome young man  clad in tight yellow attire breezed by on his bike with  greatest of ease.  “G’day!” he shouted. ” Bitch of a hill ain’t it”.  My only consolation was that even he had to stand up to pedal

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/4146233  A trace of the bike route. This trace is only 140k. (I think I switched the garmin  off somewhere). The actual route is 180k (3x a 60k course)img_0122

 

 

 That night I had a big giant choc mint Haagen Daz milkshake from the shop in Port Macquarie. I think by this time the total weight gain it must have been +3Kg

img_0112

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pychong1.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/port-macquarie-ironman-preparation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment